The Algernon Sydney Sullivan Awards are presented annually at the University Honors Convocation to the man and the woman in the May graduating class who best represent the qualities described below. This prestigious award generally is considered among the highest recognition given to a graduating senior and is given at many universities jointly by the institution and the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Foundation in New York. The Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award was created nearly 100 years ago to honor Mr. Sullivan’s life of service to others. The awards are given annually by the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Foundation to recognize individuals whose “nobility of character” and dedication to service sets them apart as examples for others. Nominations will be accepted through April 10, 2013. Submit your nomination by accessing this form:

Presented during the May undergraduate commencement ceremonies, the Etter McTeer Turner Award recognizes the graduating senior who has achieved the highest standard of excellence in academic performance, leadership, community service, personal character, and integrity. The award was initiated by the J. Ollie Edmunds family, through the Gualala Foundation, to honor the service of the late Etter McTeer Turner, Stetson’s first woman Dean of Students. It provides a companion student award to the William Hugh McEniry Excellence in Teaching Award, also established by the Edmunds family to recognize deserving faculty. Nominations will be accepted through April 10, 2013. Go to this website to submit your nomination: